I SURVIVED!

Image

The Standard Process Cleanse is COMPLETE! It was quite a challenge for me, but I did it! The experience had many ups and downs – I cheated at times and it hurt to eat those bad foods, but I accomplished the overall goal. I sped up my previously sluggish digestion and in addition lost about six pounds! I feel slimmer and more confident! In general, I would recommend this program to others with this important piece of advice, “If you slip up and eat something that is not on the food list, don’t beat yourself up! Do the best you can with what you have. Just know that whatever positive change you’ve decided to implement is better and more productive than your prior eating habits!” (This is actually what I wish someone would have been there to tell me when I foolishly went to a clam bake expecting to eat only fruits and vegetable – hah! YA RIGHT!)

Not only has the twenty-one days of the Standard Process Cleanse come and gone, but I also survived my third trimester and consequentially my first full year of acupuncture school! Honestly, it has been a doozey! I am glad to have progressed through my studies well so far. As it turns out, acupuncture school, has made me learn quite a bit about myself.  Obviously – it’s a big challenge academically, however, I think it really is a test of intestinal fortitude. According to Merriam Webster, the definition of intestinal fortitude is “courage, stamina.” Courage and stamina are definitely the right words to use when realistically talking about what it takes to become an acupuncturist.

Say What? 

Courage is necessary because this profession goes against the grain of what many believe in the West. Although I believe that both Western and Eastern Medicine CAN be successfully used together, they do appear to conflict with one another at times. Also, certain religions and cultures believe that acupuncturists perform some kind of voo-doo. The honest truth is that I’m never sure where the conversation will go when I say, “Yes – I go to the Finger Lakes School of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine!” It also takes a great deal of courage, commitment and assurance to plunge into three years of graduate school studying a subject completely foreign to you.

Stamina

Stamina is definitely the right word for the qualities needed in this program and future profession. Imagine running a marathon for years– because that’s exactly what this experience is like. I’m confident I will look back and say, “HOLY $%^&! I completed the first leg of the ‘Acupuncture and Oriental Medical Marathon!’ ” Now what is the next leg of the journey?! Oh – that would be to start or join a practice and take as many cases as I possibly can! This is a lifelong study and it is slightly comforting to know I have a whole lifetime to memorize the information. I hope I never stop learning. 

Back at It

Tomorrow begins the first day of classes as I enter my second year! (I have to mention that I was so excited to change my “about” page from “first year” to “second year Acupuncture and Oriental Medical student!” YAY!) I was invited to attend the orientation for the new class! I think it will be a great experience to see how excited the new students are! I remember sitting in orientation feeling elated to finally begin learning a career that I’m going to love! A lot has changed in a year, however, my love for this profession has not – and I am thankful for that! 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I SURVIVED!

  1. Ashley Tri 1

    Love reading your blogs! They make me really excited and I can’t wait to start learning more about AOM tomorrow! Thank you for all your help! Keep writing because I’m reading! 😄

    • How sweet are you 🙂 I am happy to help you and any of the new students in any way that I can! Thanks so much for reading!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

