Chop-Chop Bobble-Head

2014-09-21 14.33.392014-09-20 19.11.52-2

If you are wondering why it’s been three months since my last blog post, let me begin by saying that with each passing trimester, time is slipping away from me. I cannot believe seventh trimester has begun and I am in my final year of Acupuncture School. It’s been a whirlwind. I do intend to wrap up the China Chronicles, but first, here’s a little insight into my current world.

  • Bobble-head: My schedule is jam-packed. Between work, classes, clinic hours, homework, studying, and starting to think about boards, I feel like my head is spinning. With my head on a swivel, I resemble a bobble-head doll (Insert: “difficult tasks are worth completing” quote here)
  • The year of fun: My best friend and I are committed to making our last year together chock full of fun! We plan to go apple picking, wine touring, and laugh until our faces hurt. This year will definitely be one to remember.
  • Chop-Chop: Every few years, I let my hair grow long and then chop it all off. Originally I had planned on waiting until graduation, but instead, I said goodbye to 14 inches of hair this weekend. It was a cleansing experience, as if I had shed some skin like a snake, or peeled layers off an onion.
  • Pumpkin everything: IT’S FALLLLLLLL! – my favorite season and I am a freak about pumpkin everything. October is my favorite month of the year. Not only do I get to celebrate another birthday, but also I get to enjoy the beautiful foliage.
  • Future Practice: Resume, career development, small business, mission, vision, and personal statements – YIKES! (Maybe if I say the words in a list it may start sinking in) I’m overwhelmed! How can I possibly string a couple of words together to live my life and conduct my practice by?
  • Business woman – What?: I am a clinician. I can just feel it in my bones. I enjoy administering Chinese Medicine. However, I am by no means a businessperson and I don’t know the first thing about running a business. All of a sudden I’m on a roller coaster going 100mph headed towards real life and running my own business and hoping for a smooth ride.
  • Meeting with a Plattsburgh Acupuncturist: Over break, I was fortunate to meet with an acupuncturist in Plattsburgh, N.Y. She was fantastic and told me some extremely positive aspects about the outlook for acupuncture in my hometown. Although not what I had planned, it is looking quite desirable now. Oh so many big life decisions coming my way!
  • Outcome Assessments (OA’s) Round 2: As promised, OA’s have returned. This cumulative test examines all of what we have learned so far. Modeled after the NCCAOM boards, they consist of groups of one hundred multiple-choice questions for each of three subjects – acupuncture, theory, and biomedicine. Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine students must also take an Herbal OA, which is offered on a different day (THANK GOD!). This weekend, I have 3 out of 4 tests. Thinking back to how anxious I felt about taking these tests last year, it’s interesting to note that my attitude has completely changed. I don’t feel as stressed this time because I have been doing diligence over the past two years and feel like there isn’t much I could do to “cram” for these tests. I’ve been studying for them for my whole school career.

I have undergone so much personal growth in two years, but I think this coming year will be the biggest transition for me – from student to acupuncturist. I couldn’t be more excited!

Stay tuned – More China Chronicles coming soon!!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Chop-Chop Bobble-Head

  1. Stacey

    Dee! Your diligence and dedication and patience to go to school for this long blows my mind! It truly shows me you’re doing/learning about something you love. I have to admit, I am quite jealous! I don’t think there’s a thing in the world that would have kept me interested for 7 years! So incredible!! I hope everything works out for you! There will be bumps in the road and setbacks but w/ your determination and hard work, things are going to go your way sooner than later! Keep working hard, it is truly paying off. Coming from someone who is currently going through a big life change (separating from active duty Air Force to the reserves one weekend a month and no job otherwise), it’s frightening and stressful but w/ time I know things will be back to normal and I’ll be in my groove again! Find experts in the things you’re unsure of (running a business) and let them guide you! It’s not always about knowing the answer, it’s knowing where to find it! And no need to reinvent the wheel!
    Okay, I’m done preaching! Ha! Love you, Dee! Keep doing awesome things!!<3

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

